Carlingford is a magical village, full of character and is one of the best preserved medieval villages in Ireland. Raided by the Vikings in the 8th & 9th Centuries, historical records show that the Vikings occupied Carlingford Lough. They may have used the sheltered harbour as a temporary base, though, this is unclear as no factual evidence, apart from the name Carlingford has been recorded.
With its history and narrow Medieval streets, lanes that lead to the harbour, majestic Slieve Foye mountain and the famous mountains of Mourne across the lough all combine to make Carlingford unique in Ireland. Today the inherent natural beauty can equally be appreciated on land or sea. Guided walking tours, horse trekking through the mountains - sailing - yacht charter - windsurfing - canoeing - water skiing can all be enjoyed here in Carlingford. Carlingford has 14 reputable restaurants and lots of cosy pubs.
Enjoy the spectacular panoramic views and listen to the wealth of myths and legends which makes Carlingford a unique holiday experience!. Carlingford is at the centre of much more too, within an hour's drive - Newgrange - famous 3000BC prehistoric burial chamber. Proleek Dolmen - Portal tomb. Visit Giant's Causeway - world heritage site, within two hour's drive.
King John’s Castle was built in the 12th century on a rocky outcrop overlooking Carlingford Lough. The Castle dominated the Lough, the harbour and the developing town.
One of the last surviving gates into the town. It functioned as a tollgate where taxes were levied on goods entering the town.
This fortified Tower House was build by a wealthy merchant with stone. The Mint dates from the 15th Century, and is an impressive building with lovely limestone windows.
This Tower House was constructed in two phases; the older portion was built in the early 16th Century. It still has many original features. The annex was built probably about 50 yrs later to provide more living accommodation. It was owned by the Earl of Carlingford, Nicholas Taaffe, who was killed at the battle of the Boyne fighting with King James in 1690.
Under the patronage of Richard de Burgo, Earl of Ulster the Dominican order established the Friary in 1305, it was dedicated to St. Malachy.
Templetown was awarded the coveted blue flag, these beaches have the finest stretches of sand on the peninsula. There is excellent parking, toilet facilities. Ideal location for family picnics